I must confess that I was entirely sceptical regarding the chances of a decent Yorkshire Pudding emerging from the Remoska but I read around and found a few posts saying that people had made their best-ever Toad in the Hole in one, so who was I to argue. Time to put things to the test.

Having pondered the challenge I elected to buy Chipolatas, thinking that they would be less likely to emerge in an unhealthily uncooked state.

Googling around for Remoska-specific instructions found a recipe at Lakeland, several blogs reproducing largely similar instructions and Remoska’s own User Recipes. The Lakeland version is for the Standard Remoska and is the same as the one on the Remoska site but they also supply a version for the Grand model, which is the one that we have.

blog-20170305-img_0988-edit
The usual ingredients, not the usual bowl

The mix is the same as the 2-egg quantity that I would use at home but I would normally use an oven pan of much smaller size and I had imagined that I would use a similar one inside the Remoska. As every example that I found cooked the pudding simply in the Remoska pan itself I decided to try this myself.

blog-20170305-img_0989-edit
Plain flour (4 oz), 2 eggs, salt and milk, ready to mix

I made up the batter before going out for a long walk. I wanted to rest the batter in the fridge, as I do at home, so used a small bowl that would fit in the fridge in the van. Normally I would use a much larger bowl in order to whisk energetically.

blog-20170305-img_0990-edit
Checking my facts before getting going. We do not carry an electric mixer in the van, so I use an old-fashioned but effective wire balloon whisk

I departed from the recipe by adding, as I often do, a teaspoon of dried mixed herbs to my batter. Chipolatas in the cold Remoska, having pricked them first. With hindsight I believe that the pricking was not a good idea.

It’s all very well to say that the Remoska Toad is a low-fat version but any Yorkshire cook worth her salt knows that it is the fat that lends flavour to the pudding. Pricking the sausages would get the fat to run and make a tastier result… or so I thought.

blog-20170305-img_0999-edit
Sausages after 30 minutes in the Remoska

The instructions for both sizes suggest 30 minutes pre-cooking time for the sausages and this makes sense. That is what I gave  them and at the end of that time they were beginning to brown nicely.

blog-20170305-img_1000-edit
The herb-speckled batter added to the hot pan with the sausages

The lid went back on and I expected to wait 40 to 50 minutes for my dinner. I planned to put my veg on after 30 minutes.

It was not long at all before I could smell distinct cooking aromas. On investigation, the pudding was already well risen and browning, though it gave up some steam and visibly sank before me when I removed the lid. Clearly I needed to get my veg on immediately.

I boiled an onion in one saucepan on the gas hob and put my carrots and broccoli in a steamer basket above the gravy onions.

I checked the pudding again as the veg were steaming and panicked a little when I saw how brown the sausages and batter were. I added a deflecting piece of kitchen foil… and then fretted about spoiling my pud by making it steam.

blog-20170305-img_1001-edit
A bit well done about the edges

In the end I think my Toad in the Hole had around 30 minutes cooking time.

It was not an unqualified success, though went down well enough in the end. It was however a very thin pudding and quite soggy. Serving it was a conundrum as I had nothing large enough to put it on in order to cut it up. Also, the softness of the centre made the whole thing difficult to lift out and it took two pairs of hands to do that job.

blog-20170305-img_1003-edit
Slightly “caught” about the edges, slightly soggy in the middle but tasty enough and we ate the lot

We ate it! There’s nothing wrong with a soggy pudding and many people prefer that to a crispy one full of air. Me, I like them both ways, so am easily satisfied. The sausages were the worst part. It may be my fault for choosing skinny ones and for then pricking them. They were dry and tasteless. The pud was far too thin in the centre… too little batter for such a wide diameter pan.

Next time I would either use a baking tin inside the Remoska or possibly increase the amount of batter to a 3-egg mix if not using a tin. I will certainly use a good butcher’s sausage next time in preference to the supermarket chipolatas and I would not prick them. Very probably a knob of good tasty fat will go in to start off the sausage cooking and add flavour to the whole dish.

By the way… the Banks’s Amber was a good accompaniment (89p a bottle from Tesco.)

Leave a Reply

